this is a page for

Category: Best Sellers

Book Club Monday One Day Late…it is summer after all!!!

The Next Book on my list is Don’t Hate the Player by Alexis Nedd. At first, it seems for a younger crowd but then I really enjoyed reading it with my daughters and discussing it together. We really have not been able to do that before and since it has a sports setting, I think a lot of you will find it really entertaining:

81IdAEeGYUS 1

“Refreshingly voice-y, wildly smart, and genuinely hilarious.” – Casey McQuiston, New York Times bestselling author of Red, White & Royal Blue

From an exciting new voice comes a funny and heartfelt YA romance set in the world of competitive gaming, perfect for fans of Opposite of Always and Slay.

Emilia Romero is living a double life. By day, she’s a field hockey star with a flawless report card. But by night, she’s kicking virtual ass as the only female member of a highly competitive eSports team. Emilia has mastered the art of keeping her two worlds thriving, which hinges on them staying completely separate. That’s in part to keep her real-life persona, but also for her own safety, since girl gamers are often threatened and harassed.

When a major eSports tournament comes to her city, Emilia is determined to prove herself to her team and the male-dominated gaming community. But her perfectly balanced life is thrown for a loop when a member of a rival team recognizes her . . .

Jake Hooper has had a crush on Emilia since he was ten years old. When his underdog eSports team makes it into the tournament, he’s floored to discover she’s been leading a double life. The fates bring Jake and Emilia together as they work to keep her secret, even as the pressures of the tournament and their non-gaming world threaten to pull everything apart.

Debut author Alexis Nedd has crafted a YA combo-punch of charming romance and virtual adventure that will win the hearts of gamers and non-gamers alike. – Amazon.com

For more information or to order this book, click HERE.

Book Club Monday

I have seen all over Social Media many many people reading this weeks Book Club choice, Pachinko by Min Jin Lee.

download 3
Image Amazon

New York Times Top Ten Book of the Year and National Book Award finalist, Pachinko is an “extraordinary epic” of four generations of a poor Korean immigrant family as they fight to control their destiny in 20th-century Japan (San Francisco Chronicle).

NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2017 * A USA TODAY TOP TEN OF 2017 * JULY PICK FOR THE PBS NEWSHOUR-NEW YORK TIMES BOOK CLUB NOW READ THIS * FINALIST FOR THE 2018DAYTON LITERARY PEACE PRIZE* WINNER OF THE MEDICI BOOK CLUB PRIZE

Roxane Gay’s Favorite Book of 2017, Washington Post

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * #1 BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER * USA TODAY BESTSELLER * WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER * WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER

“There could only be a few winners, and a lot of losers. And yet we played on, because we had hope that we might be the lucky ones.”

In the early 1900s, teenaged Sunja, the adored daughter of a crippled fisherman, falls for a wealthy stranger at the seashore near her home in Korea. He promises her the world, but when she discovers she is pregnant–and that her lover is married–she refuses to be bought. Instead, she accepts an offer of marriage from a gentle, sickly minister passing through on his way to Japan. But her decision to abandon her home, and to reject her son’s powerful father, sets off a dramatic saga that will echo down through the generations.

Richly told and profoundly moving, Pachinko is a story of love, sacrifice, ambition, and loyalty. From bustling street markets to the halls of Japan’s finest universities to the pachinko parlors of the criminal underworld, Lee’s complex and passionate characters–strong, stubborn women, devoted sisters and sons, fathers shaken by moral crisis–survive and thrive against the indifferent arc of history. – Amazon.com

*Includes reading group guide*

For more information or to purchase this book, click HERE.

Book Club Monday

I just love this week’s book, When In Doubt Wash Your Hair by Anya Hindmarch. If you are not familiar with Anya she is an incredible luxury British accessory designer. Her handbag designs are brilliant and have become a cult favorite. This book is her life manual and it makes a great gift for your sister, bestie, daughter, or recent graduate.

Screen Shot 2021 05 24 at 9.53.33 PM
Screen Shot 2021 05 24 at 9.53.33 PM

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER 
‘I’ve been waiting for this book all my life and everyone needs to read it’ Claudia Winkleman
Anya Hindmarch is a mother of five, stepmother, entrepreneur and globally renowned businesswoman. In If In Doubt, Wash Your Hair, she shares what she has learned during her busy and eclectic life, what she still worries about, and what advice she has received along the way.

From practical tips and quick fixes, to profound observations about confidence and creativity, this inspiring handbook will show you how to live a little better – and why sometimes, the answer can be as simple as washing your hair.

‘Comforting, practical and beautifully personal. This book feels like your best friend telling you it’s all going to be ok’ Fearne Cotton

‘Warm, friendly, and packed to the rafters with excellent advice – I loved it’ India Knight
‘A charming mix of memoir and manifesto’ Grazia

‘A hands-on, practical guide to managing the stresses of daily life’ Evening Standard, Highlights for 2021

‘Warm and refreshingly honest’ Julia Samuel

‘I loved this book – it’s really unusual, surprising and inspiring’ Viv Groskop

‘A treasure trove of inspiring, down-to-earth and practical advice shared with humour and honesty’ Alexandra Shulman

For more information or to purchase this book, click HERE

Book Club Monday

This week’s book, The Song Book of Benny Lament by Amy Harmon, came highly recommended. I heard it just gets better and better as you read.

download
Image Amazon.com

From the bestselling author of What the Wind Knows and From Sand and Ash comes a powerful love story about a musical duo who put everything on the line to be together.

New York, 1960: For Benny Lament, music is his entire life. With his father’s deep ties to the mob, the Bronx piano man has learned that love and family can get you in trouble. So he keeps to himself, writing songs for other musicians, avoiding the spotlight…until the night his father brings him to see Esther Mine sing.

Esther is a petite powerhouse with a gorgeous voice. And when Benny writes a hit song and performs it with her, their collaboration thrusts the duo onto the national stage…and stirs up old issues and new scrutiny that the mob—and Benny—would rather avoid.

It would be easier to walk away. But the music and the woman are too hard for the piano man to resist. Benny’s songs and Esther’s vocals are an explosive combination, a sound that fans can’t get enough of. But though America might love the music they make together, some people aren’t ready for Benny Lament and Esther Mine on—or off—the stage. – Amazon.com

For more information or to purchase this book, click HERE.

Book Club Monday

Are you longing for the days when trying a new restaurant was just so exciting and fun? Well today’s book club choice, Where Chef’s Eat : A Guides To Chef’s Favorite Restaurants by Joe Warwick is the book for all of us….

Screen Shot 2021 03 01 at 9.52.17 PM
Image Navy Lobster

Eat around the world with 650 of the world’s best chefs. Wherever you are, you’ll never miss the best local diner for breakfast, the best restaurant for a business dinner, or the best place for a late-night snack – and everything in between.

This all-new, completely revised, third edition of the global restaurant guidebook that has sold more than 250,000 copies features more than 7,000 recommendations for more than 4,500 restaurants in more than 70 countries. Wherever you are, you’ll never miss the best local diner for breakfast, the best restaurant for a business dinner, or the best place for a late night snack ? and everything in-between.

With city maps, key information, reviews and recommendations from the chefs themselves, this is the guide for savvy restaurant-goers and arm chair foodies in major cities and towns worldwide.

WHERE: With recommendations in more than 70 countries – from the United States to Buenos Aires from Ireland to Estonia from Greece to South Africa, discover the best eateries for your destination.

CHEFS: Find out where and what the world’s best chefs eat including: Jason Atherton, Shannon Bennett, Helena Rizzo, Stephen Harris, Yotam Ottolenghi, Yoshihiro Narisawa, and hundreds more.

EAT: From breakfast to late night, bargain to high end – discover the best places to eat for just the right occasion.

This book can be purchased at one of my favorite local shops Navy Lobster in Greenwich. DM or call Mary Beth to get your copy.

Book Club Monday

This week’s book club choice is a Reece Witherspoon pick and an instant New York Times bestseller. And I know how much you all love thrillers so The Guest List by Lucy Foley is my pick.

On an island off the coast of Ireland, guests gather to celebrate two people joining their lives together as one. The groom: handsome and charming, a rising television star. The bride: smart and ambitious, a magazine publisher. It’s a wedding for a magazine, or for a celebrity: the designer dress, the remote location, the luxe party favors, the boutique whiskey. The cell phone service may be spotty and the waves may be rough, but every detail has been expertly planned and will be expertly executed.

But perfection is for plans, and people are all too human. As the champagne is popped and the festivities begin, resentments and petty jealousies begin to mingle with the reminiscences and well wishes. The groomsmen begin the drinking game from their school days. The bridesmaid not-so-accidentally ruins her dress. The bride’s oldest (male) friend gives an uncomfortably caring toast.

And then someone turns up dead. Who didn’t wish the happy couple well? And perhaps more important, why? – Amazon.com

For more information or to purchase this book, click HERE.

download 7
Image Amazon.com