this is a page for

Category: Book Club

Author Laurie Gelman Celebrates the Release of Her New Book, Yoga Pant Nation

Best-selling author, Laurie Gelman, celebrated the release of her new book Yoga Pant Nation, at a private residence in Watermill, NY. Hosted by Laurie’s husband producer Michael Gelman and Ali Wentworth, family, celebrity friends, and supporters were in attendance to share in the celebration of Laurie Gelman and the third installment of her Class Mom series.

Screen Shot 2021 07 28 at 10.33.00 PM
Kelly Ripa, Ali Wentworth, Laurie Gelman, Katie Couric ©Patrick McMullan

About Yoga Pant Nation:

The hilarious and irreverent Jen Dixon is a class mom—again—in YOGA PANT NATION (Henry Holt and Company; 978-1-2507-7757-7; $26.99; Hardcover) by Laurie Gelman. In the third book of the Class Mom series, Jen’s final year as a class mom is a breeze until the PTA president asks her to champion the school’s annual fundraiser, a notoriously challenging job which, as we know, is right up Jen’s alley.

It’s pretty much mayhem as Jen deals with a temperamental fundraising committee, the Hindenburg of bake sales, and countless other natural and unnatural disasters that deter her from reaching her goal of raising $10,000. She is also dealing with her ten-year-old son Max, who may or may not be a fifth-grade bully.

But outside of William Taft Elementary, Jen’s life is good, even if she and her daughter Vivs don’t see eye-to-eye on the whole parenting thing. She’s a grandma for the first time to two-year-old Maude who is, by Jen’s description, “delightful and delicious.” And she’s taking her love of spinning to the next level by attempting to become an instructor and finding an unlikely ally in her husband Ron’s crazy ex-wife Cindy.

As ever, when life gets crazy, humor is Jen’s best stress relief. Her acerbic emails to the class parents and friendly spars with her daughter over how organic is organic enough for baby food will have readers laughing out loud and texting Jen’s best lines to their friends.

For more information or to order this book, click HERE.

Book Club Monday

Today’s book club choice is The Midnight Library but Matt Haig. This book first was published back in September and it quickly moved to the NYT’s Best Seller List and right now is #4 on Amazon’s charts of the most read book on the site!!!! Here is the story:

9780525559474 p0 v6 s550x406
Image Amazon.com

“A feel-good book guaranteed to lift your spirits.”—The Washington Post 

A New York Times bestseller | Winner of the Goodreads Choice Award for Fiction | A Good Morning America Book Club Pick!

“Between life and death there is a library, and within that library, the shelves go on forever. Every book provides a chance to try another life you could have lived. To see how things would be if you had made other choices . . . Would you have done anything different, if you had the chance to undo your regrets?” 

A dazzling novel about all the choices that go into a life well lived, from the internationally bestselling author of Reasons to Stay Alive and How To Stop Time.

Somewhere out beyond the edge of the universe there is a library that contains an infinite number of books, each one the story of another reality. One tells the story of your life as it is, along with another book for the other life you could have lived if you had made a different choice at any point in your life. While we all wonder how our lives might have been, what if you had the chance to go to the library and see for yourself? Would any of these other lives truly be better?

In The Midnight Library, Matt Haig’s enchanting new novel, Nora Seed finds herself faced with this decision. Faced with the possibility of changing her life for a new one, following a different career, undoing old breakups, realizing her dreams of becoming a glaciologist; she must search within herself as she travels through the Midnight Library to decide what is truly fulfilling in life, and what makes it worth living in the first place. – Amazon.com

For more information or to purchase this book, click HERE.

Book Club Monday

I have not found a cannot stop reading, cannot put down book in such a long while. When In Five Years: A Novel by Rebecca Serle was recently recommended to me, I knew it was going to be our next great read…

download 3 3
Image Amazon.com

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Good Morning AmericaFabFitFun, and Marie Claire Book Club Pick

“In Five Years is as clever as it is moving, the rare read-in-one-sitting novel you won’t forget.” —Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists

Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day—a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Dannie Kohan lives her life by the numbers.

She is nothing like her lifelong best friend—the wild, whimsical, believes-in-fate Bella. Her meticulous planning seems to have paid off after she nails the most important job interview of her career and accepts her boyfriend’s marriage proposal in one fell swoop, falling asleep completely content.

But when she awakens, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. Dannie spends one hour exactly five years in the future before she wakes again in her own home on the brink of midnight—but it is one hour she cannot shake. In Five Years is an unforgettable love story, but it is not the one you’re expecting. – Amazon.com

For more information or to purchase this book, click HERE.

Book Club Monday

This week’s Book Club choice is so AWESOME!!!! Born To Party, Forced To Work by Bronson VanWyck. You probably have seen at some point one of Bronson’s parties on Instagram. He is known as the “Wizard of Oz” of NY party planning, the Rolls Royce of party planners. After a year of living in a covid fueled world, we really need this book…..

51tkdGhKtmL. SX367 BO1204203200

The internationally acclaimed event producer shows his ideas and inspiration for ultimate and intimate celebrations

What defines a truly great party? Most of all: generosity of spirit. In his first book, Bronson van Wyck, the man Vogue called ‘The Wizard of Oz of New York party planning,’ distills the essential pillars of the art of celebration into one volume, with examples drawn from his many successes – and, admittedly, a few entertaining failures. Lusciously illustrated with images from van Wyck’s most spectacular events, this is the perfect primer on throwing parties that are as much fun to give as they are to attend. – Amazon.com

For more information or to order this book, click HERE.

Here is a sneak peek:

images 2

images 5

images 4

images 6

images 7 1

Book Club Monday

I have been obsessed with Bill Cunningham for years. I worked at 57th and 5th and loved seeing Bill in action on the “Bergdorf Corner” where he would photograph fashionistas, for the New York Time’s Style Section. His book, Bill Cunningham: On the Street, Five Decades of Iconic Photography by The New York Times is this week’s Book Club choice.

9781524763503 1
Image New York Times

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The first published collection of photographs by the icon of street style, bringing together favorites published in The New York Times alongside never-before-seen work across five decades.

“A dazzling kaleidoscope from the gaze of an artist who saw beauty at every turn.”—André Leon Talley
 
Bill Cunningham’s photography captured the evolution of style, of trends, and of the everyday, both in New York City and in Paris. But his work also shows that street style is not only about fashion; it’s about the people and the changing culture. 
 
These photographs—many never before seen, others having originally appeared in The New York Times and elsewhere—move from decade to decade, beginning in the 1970s and continuing until Cunningham’s death in 2016. Here you’ll find Cunningham’s distinctive chronicling of the 1980s transit strike, the rise of 1990s casual Fridays, the sadness that fell over the city following 9/11, Inauguration Day 2009, the onset of selfies, and many other significant moments.
 
This enduring portfolio is enriched by essays that provide a revealing portrait of Cunningham and a few of his many fascinations and influences, contributed by Cathy Horyn, Tiina Loite, Vanessa Friedman, Ruth La Ferla, Guy Trebay, Penelope Green, Jacob Bernstein, and a much favored subject, Anna Wintour. More than anything, On the Street is a timeless representation of Cunningham’s commitment to capturing the here and now.

For more information or to purchase this book click HERE on the Pittsburgh Mercantile site…

Book Club Monday

I found today’s Book Club choice, Wardrobe Crisis: How We Went From Sunday Best To Fast Fashion by Clare Press absolutely fascinating. A reader, who is living in London read it during this second lockdown and messaged me about it. I immediately bought it and started reading…

Who makes your clothes? This used to be an easy question to answer it was the seamstress next door, or the tailor on the high street—or you made them yourself. Today, we rarely know the origins of the clothes hanging in our closets. The local shoemaker, dressmaker, and milliner are long gone, replaced a globalized fashion industry worth $1.5 trillion a year.

In Wardrobe Crisis, fashion journalist Clare Press explores the history and ethics behind what we wear. Putting her insider status to good use, Press examines the entire fashion ecosystem, from sweatshops to haute couture, unearthing the roots of today’s buy-and-discard culture. She traces the origins of icons like Chanel, Dior, and Hermès; charts the rise and fall of the department store; and follows the thread that led us from Marie Antoinette to Carrie Bradshaw.

Wardrobe Crisis is a witty and persuasive argument for a fashion revolution that will empower you to feel good about your wardrobe again. – Amazon.com

For more information or to purchase this book, click HERE.

51yJgKZzvBL